Elon University wrote an article about the future of "Generation Always-On" in year
2020. It is expected that Teens-to-20s will benefit and suffer due to 'always-on' lives. Right now Generation AO have an amazing ability to juggle many task, a thirst for instant gratification while they will suffer by having a lack of patience.


I agree that the 2020 generation will have many different experiences in technology than any other previous generation. However, I agree that many use the Internet as their external brain which I feel will cause for them to think "shallow" and not know the true meaning of thinking in depth. I worry about the future generation because it does seem like being 'always-on" will and can affect their attention span and patience.

However, some benefits that I see are that it allows for the generation to be creative
and strive for something better. We live in a society that always wants to be "first" when it comes to technology advancements and with Gen AO they may be able to put a new spin on things and create bigger and better technology in society for future generations. But by putting a spin on something, it means that the idea has already been there and therefore it is not as unique. The Internet is used for people to find answers but it does not let them think for themselves. My worry is that we will become a society that is so dependent on technology that we will not know how to function without it.


Caleb Canterbury
5/21/2013 11:38:09 am

Shannon,
After reading the article I would have to agree with you. Technology is everywhere and there is no stopping it. With children being raised in a new generation of technology there are both advantages and disadvantages.
I feel some of the advantages are being able to have access to use and large amounts of information and resources at their finger tips. I believe students will have the ability to problem solve in a way like never before.
I also believe there will be some disadvantages to go along with it. I believe children will lose the ability to communicate face to face. I feel if a child isn’t texting or messaging they won’t know how to respond face to face conversations. I also thing cyber bullying will increase which will be nearly impossible for teachers to catch.
Over, all I think there are a number of advantages and disadvantages with the new generations and technology but I think it’s safe to say they will always be on.
Caleb

Reply
Melissa Gutierrez
5/21/2013 02:57:17 pm

Hey Shannon,
I really enjoyed reading your blog “Always on.” One statement you had mention was how you are worry about the future generation being so dependent on technology that they will not know how to function without it. I too agree with you on this statement because I feel that if this generation keeps growing up with always being “Wired on,” what will happen if technology falters, then what will they do? Because this generation is so independent on technology I feel like they haven’t develop those problem-solving skills if a situation like this would occur (no technology).
Another thing you mention in your blog was how you feel like technology is affecting the attention span and patience of these generations of students. I believe it has, because most students these days even my own player’s want things right there and then, as if they do not have to work for anything. They want things done instantly, and that’s just not how it works. Also I feel like technology has affected their attention span because I have notice with these generations of basketball players that go through my program it seems every year they lose more and more focus. Especially when I teach offenses or drills they seem to focus in the first few minutes and then drift off into “wonderland,” and that is when I have to repeat myself once again, and that becomes frustrating for a coach and even for an educator
I really enjoyed reading your blog and look forward to read more entries.


Melissa Gutierrez

Reply
8/2/2022 03:31:33 am

Tiktok’ta kitlenizi arttırmak ve daha fazla etkileşim almanız için hizmetlerimizi deneyebilirsiniz. Gönderileriniz kısa sürede binlerce kişi tarafından izlenecek ve beğeni yağmuruna tutulacak.

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Shannon Taylor
    Head Basketball coach at Kerman High School. Currently a graduate student at Fresno Pacific University for Kinesiology with an emphasis in Physical Education

    Archives

    June 2013
    May 2013

    Categories

    All